A busy week

There has been a lot going on this week. It started on Saturday with me making a batch of Rock Cakes as requested by my Father-in-Law as a gift for Father’s Day. I made a few extra as my Brother-in-law had gone into hospital the day before for an operation, and I thought he could do with a little treat to help speed up his recovery. Rock cakes 2I got hold of the boys felt tips and decorated little bags for the cakes to go in. That’s one job done.

I got up with the boys on Father’s Day morning and sorted out breakfast, including a lovely bacon and egg panini for Ryan. At lunch time Reece asked if he could make a sandwich and a cup of tea for his Dad. So with my supervision he put together a ‘Scooby Doo’ type sandwich. He was very pleased with himself. We then visited our Dad’s to deliver the Rock Cakes and a few other bits and pieces.Club sandwich 3Club sandwich 2Club sandwich After being crammed full with cups of tea we head home. Another job done.

Monday came and I’m still running around trying to sort out the last bits and pieces for Ryan’s birthday on Tuesday. Men are so difficult to find gifts for. It’s even harder when its Father’s Day, his birthday and our wedding anniversary in one week. It was a bit of a struggle to fit it all under the bed! A bit of late night wrapping, and that’s another job done.

Ryan’s birthday and I needed to be super organised to get the boys up and ready for school, but also have time to sit with their Dad and give him their cards and presents. I even managed to put together a full English for the birthday boy before I left for the school run. When I got back I made some Chocolate Brownies as requested by Ryan as an extra birthday treat.Birthday brownies  We spent a lovely couple of hours having lunch with Ryan’s parents and Grandmother, before setting off the pick up the boys from school. Then it was ready for round two, as my parents, Brother and his wife came to visit.

On Thursday our Anniversary present arrived early…………..a food mixer. So I spent the rest of the day going through my recipe books to see what I should make first.

Its Friday and I’ve made my first cake with the mixer. Its called Sand Cake, it’s just a sponge covered in passion fruit icing. Totally delicious. Tomorrow is our anniversary and hopefully I’ll be able to put my feet up for a bit.Sand cake 2Sand cake Phew!

Leave a Reply

